Your Egypt ... your convenient guide to the land of wonder
Egypt Guide
Egypt History
Interlanguage (Arabic words borrowed from foreign languages and vice-versa)
Games & Quizzes
Topic of the Issue
Archaeology Watch
Recent Egypt News
Quotes of the Issue
Proverb of the Issue
Jokes of the Issue
Pic of the Issue


Predynastic Period
(4400 - 3000 BC)
Before the beginning of the famous Pharaonic dynasties, there had been several civilizations from around 5000 BC. Traces of these civilizations were discovered in a number of sites:

Lower Egypt
Fayoum A (4400-3900 BC)
Merimde (4300-3700 BC)
El Omari (3700-3400 BC)
Ma'adi (3400-3000 BC)
Upper Egypt
Badarian (5000-4000 BC)
Naqada l, Amratian (4000-3500 BC)
Naqada II, Gerzean (3500-3100 BC)
Naqada III, Dynasty 0 (3100-3000 BC)

Near the end of this period attempts were made to unite Egypt under one rule. One of these is an attempt undertook by a king called 'Scorpion,' who could have been the last king before the dynasties.

Crowns of Egypt
At that time, Egypt was divided territorially into two main parts: The first is the Upper Egypt kingdom represented by the while crown, symbolized by the lotus flower and embodied in a cobra. The second is the Lower Egypt kingdom represented by the red hollow crown, symbolized by a papyrusWhat does it mean? plant and embodied in a vulture.

It is believed that King Narmer is the first to achieve the unification between Egypt's two main regions marking the start of the Egyptian dynasties.

Thenceforth, the two crowns merged to form one crown, hence one kingdom, while their symbols were both accompanying the king to emphasize his control on all the Egyptian lands.


Sign | View
Our Guestbook

Subscribe to our newsletter:
Copyright © Your Egypt, all rights reserved