Your Egypt ... your convenient guide to the land of wonder
Egypt Guide
Egypt History
Interlanguage (Arabic words borrowed from foreign languages and vice-versa)
Games & Quizzes
Topic of the Issue
Archaeology Watch
Recent Egypt News
Quotes of the Issue
Proverb of the Issue
Jokes of the Issue
Pic of the Issue


3rd Intermediate Period
(1070 - 664 BC)
21st Dynasty 22nd Dynasty 23rd Dynasty
24th Dynasty 25th Dynasty
High Priests & 21st Dynasty
From Thebes and Tanis respectively
(1070 - 945 BC)
When Ramesses XI died, Herihor, the then high priest of AmunWho is this deity?, ascended the throne. Herihor and another one called Smendes, who probably had some kinship with the 20th dynasty, divided the country between them.

Herihor took Upper Egypt under his dominion, while Smendes (r. 1070 - 1044) took Lower and Middle Egypt and started a dynasty of his own, that is the 21st.
Thus the rest of priests of the 20th dynasty were actually contemporaries to the new 21st dynasty.

Painted wooden Stela
of Neshkons, Queen
of Pinedjem II

image courtesy of
The Egypt Archive
Capital of Upper Egypt was Thebes (Luxor) while that of the Lower Egypt was Tanis.
Herihor was aged when he seized power at Thebes. A kin of him called Piankh succeeded him. Piankh had also a short life and was soon succeeded by his son Pinedjem I.
Pinedjem I maintained good relations with the northern dynasty.

A number of priests and kings followed in the two dynasties. Evidences tell us about the power struggles and plots between the priests to seize the throne.
At Thebes successors of Pinedjem I were Masaherta, Menkheperre, Smendes II, Pinedjem II and finally Psusennes III.

At Tanis, Amenemnisu succeeded Smendes I then Psusennes I, Amenemope, Osorkon and the elder Siamun, and finally Psusennes II.
There are no evidences that skirmishes took place between the two entities, which indicated they both accepted each other.

Sign | View
Our Guestbook

Subscribe to our newsletter:
Copyright © Your Egypt, all rights reserved